h1

March 2017 Movie/Music Preview

March 2, 2017

I’m starting a new regular blog post that previews upcoming releases in music, movies and Netflix. Here’s what I’m looking forward to in March 2017:

Netflix:

This Is Spinal Tap (March 1st) – A highly touted classic that I’ve never gotten around to seeing, I will try to make it a point to watch it now that it’s available to stream.

Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (March 7th) – I’m still on board with Schumer; she hasn’t disappointed me yet.

Marvel’s Iron Fist (March 17th) – The latest in Marvel’s Netflix series – following Daredevil, Jessica Jones, and Luke Cage – and the final solo season before all those “heroes” join forces in The Defenders later this year. Iron Fist looks okay, but my expectations are relatively tempered at this point.

Better Call Saul season 2 (March 27th) – The first season was an excellent spin off from Breaking Bad, continuing that show’s extremely high standards of quality. I’m really looking forward to watching season 2.

Archer season 7 (28th) – I binge-watched the first three seasons of Archer in January, but dedicated my TV-watching time to Bob’s Burgers in February. I imagine I will dust this series off by the end of April as it has been quite spectacular so far.

Other notable streaming additions include Blazing Saddles, Chicago, Jurassic Park, Memento, Midnight In Paris (all on the 1st), and Million Dollar Baby (13th), all of which are highly recommended if you haven’t seen them.

Theatrical Releases:

Logan (3rd) – Trailer looks great and reviews have been amazing. Hugh Jackman’s farewell to Wolverine has a very real chance to be the best film set in the X-Men universe.

Kong: Skull Island (10th) – I wasn’t all that excited about this, but Tom Hiddleston and Brie Larson are great actors and the overwhelmingly positive reviews have made this a must see film for me.

Raw (10th) – This is a French film that probably won’t get a wide release in the U.S. but its plot about a vegetarian woman eating meat for the first time during a school hazing and developing an insatiable taste for it sounds like the makings of potentially fun and disturbing movie.

Beauty and the Beast (17th) – A live action Disney remake starring Emma Watson as Belle. Disney has been absolutely crushing lately, so there’s no reason to expect this won’t be very enjoyable. The animated version is one of Disney’s all-time best films, so there is potential for this to be great.

T2 Trainspotting (17th) – I am not among the cult following of the original Trainspotting, so my anticipation for its sequel is pretty minimal. However, given the first film’s pedigree and director Danny Boyle’s track record since then, I will be revisiting the first Trainspotting and eventually watching its sequel, but I’ll probably skip it in theaters.

Song to Song (17th) – A Terrence Malik film starring Ryan Gosling and Christian Bale? Yes please! Actually, my anticipation just went down a little. In double checking the film’s credits, I noticed that while Flixster has Bale headlining with Gosling, he does not have an acting credit for this film on IMDB, so I’m not sure what to make of that.

Power Rangers (24th) – When this was announced I had zero interest in it, but I have to say the trailers have made me on board now.

Ghost In The Shell (31st) – Okay, I’m not anticipating this at all. In fact, I predict a total bomb.

Music:

Khalid – American Teen (3rd) – I have to admit that I have listened to zero songs from this artist, but I have noticed Seattle’s DJ Hyphen has given him multiple plays during his Sunday Night Sound Sessions and that is enough of an endorsement for me. I will be checking this out in entirety when Apple Music makes it available later tonight.

Murs – Captain California (10th) – Murs is an above average rapper that has been around forever and has multiple good releases, but is completely overlooked by the masses. Though I have not heard over half of his catalog, I’ve enjoyed everything I have listened to.

Raekwon, Trey Songz, James Blunt, Soundgarden, Bush, Too $hort, and Rick Ross are all also releasing new music in March and while I will probably check out most or all of these releases, they are going to be on pretty short leashes as I’m not really a fan of any of these artists in 2017.

It’s worth noting that I am only really knowledgeable about hip-hop music so I have no idea what to anticipate in other genres and I suspect there will be multiple releases during the month that I’m not even aware of at the moment.

Leave a Reply

